Saturday, 25 August 2012

Bolton Food and Drink Festival 2012

Bolton Food and Drink Festival is in full flow this weekend...it starts Friday 24th August and ends on bank holiday Monday 27th August. I popped along on the Saturday to have a nosey and a wander around. I didn't get to see everything on offer (there is SO much going on there!) but what I saw I liked and I was quite impressed with the layout and what was on offer.
There are a huge number of stalls (listed at the bottom of this post) selling food related items, lots of stalls and vans selling amazing street food to eat on site or take home (everything from a cupcake to a pancake to fresh italian pizzas to indian foods...its all here...and most of it cooked fresh in front of you).

There is a beer and cider area, loads of places to sit and relax and eat (undercover and outdoors) and lots of street entertainment and cooking demonstrations to watch (some are free and some are ticketed).

The action centres around Victoria Square in Bolton in the heart of the town centre (outside the town hall) and flows into Deansgate, the main Marketgate shopping centre and the market hall. There really is something for everyone here, if you are a food lover its right up your street browsing the stalls, looking for an unusual lunch over the bank holiday weekend washed down with something amazing, try this for size!
There are some very well known faces appearing over the weekend of the Bolton Food and drink festival...including these two very familiar faces...but more about Mary Berry and Paul Hollywood tomorrow...

Stalls

Deansgate Street Food Area (Café Nero – Dorothy Perkins)

Zouk www.zoukteabar.co.uk Indian foods and snacks
Izabelas www.vanilla-red.com Hot cooked foods
Rhumbaba Authentic Jamaican food and sauces including jerk creole, chicken, rice and peas
A Little Taste of Hungary Traditional Hungarian homemade food, beef and chicken goulash, chimney cake, Hungarian sausages, soup and grilled chicken
Dunscar Brewery www.dunscarbridgebrewery.co.uk Locally brewed beers by the bottle
Suzannas www.suzannas.com Serving up hot food and BBQ
Chaat Cart www.chaatcart.com Indian style street food
Cooked In-Stone Pizza Fresh handmade pizza cooked in a log fired clay oven
The Coffee Carriage www.thecoffeecarriage.co.uk Speciality fresh ground coffees, chocolate drinks and tea
John McLaren Ice cream

Deansgate (Dorothy Perkins- M&S)

Bolton Market Wellbeing project- free samples of healthy foods
The Ultimate Fudge Outlet www.ultimatefudgeoutlet.co.uk Traditional and specialist handmade fudge
Shirley Roberts Pie Pies, puddings, cakes and bread
Pizza Island Chilli sauces and fry sauces
Cupcakes by Sophia www.cupcakesbysophia.co.uk Speciality cupcakes
Derek Priestly – specialist cheeses
Gobbled Up Homemade cupcakes, loaf cakes and full cakes
The Holiday Inn www.holidayinn.com Savoury sausage rolls
Savin Hill Farm www.savin-hill.co.uk Traditional rare breed beef, pork, lamb, mutton, dry cured bacons, sausages and pork pies.
The Kitchen on Great Moor Street – gluten and dairy free cakes
Flint & Flame www.flintandflame.com High quality steel knives
Gourmet Kitchenware www.gourmetkitchenware.co.uk High quality kitchen ware
Delicious Sauce www.delicioussauce.co.uk Chilli sauces, jellies and infused oils
Route Ginger Gluten free and reduced sugar cakes, tray bakes, pastries, biscuits, preserves and chocolates
Green Choice olives Olives, garlic, feta cheese, Turkish delights, nuts and baklava
The Nook Brew House www.thenookbrewhouse.co.uk Bottled real ale
Williams Handbaked www.williamshandbaked.co.uk Speciality cakes, biscuits and flapjacks
Wellbeing Farm/Whiteside butchers www.thewellbeingfarm.co.uk Hand reared meats
John Sault Fudge Homemade Fudge and chocolate truffles
The Little Round Cake Co. www.thelittleroundcakecompany.co.uk
Homemade little round cakes, mini layered cakes, giant meringues, tarts and indulgent brownies.

Oxford Street

Francas www.francastakeaway.co.uk Authentic Italian sauces freshly baked pizza’s and garlic bread
Holdens Ice cream & Zest www.holdensicecream.com Handmade artisan ice cream and deli
Spinney Kitchen www.spinneykitchen.co.uk Selection of loose leaf teas and coffee beans
The Tiny Takeaway www.thetinytakeaway.com Selection of specially blended Indian mixed spices to make authentic curries at home.
All you Knead www.allyouknead.co.uk Homemade artisan breads including white, wholemeal, sour dough, rye and other speciality breads.
Mr Vikki’s www.mrvikkis.co.uk Indian fusion award-winning pickles, chutneys and chilli sauces
Simply Sencillo www.sencillo-uk.co.uk Award winning craft somerset cider and flagons gift packs. Cider cake, cheese, jams and chutney
Sue Lee Spring rolls
Occasion Cakes www.occasioncakes.co.uk Celebration cakes, novelty biscuits
Old Elephant Fudge Handmade Fudges
MKS Foods www.mksdistribution.com Nuts, Turkish Delights, olives, Baklava
Chocolate Magic www.chocolate-magic.co.uk Handmade artisan chocolates
Fredericks Ice cream The Albert Halls are bringing a selection of Fredericks finest ice creams
Cupcake Creationz www.cupcakecreationz.co.uk Speciality cupcakes
Heritage Kitchen www.heritagekitchen.co.uk Preserves and chutneys
Retro shots www.retroshots.co.uk Flavoured vodka shots
Crossmoor Farm www.crossmoorhoney.com Honey…plain and flavoured, flapjacks and candles
Mr Fitzpatricks www.mrfitzpatricks.com
Award-winning botanical herbalist. Specialist drinks include dandelion and burdock and sarsaparilla.
The Knife Sharpener Guy www.theknifesharpernerguy.co.uk Knife sharpening
Be Happy Bakery www.behappybakery.com Gourmet cupcakes, cookies, flapjacks, sweet and savoury muffins and small traditional cakes
The Chilli Jam man www.thechillijamman.com Award winning range of chilli jams and oils
Chipstix www.chipstix.com Cooked potato chips
The Cheshire cheese co.  www.cheshirecheesecompany.co.uk Artisan cheeses including rioja and caramelised onion flavour, sticky toffee pudding and strawberries and cream!
Premium Drinks Alcoholic wines and beers

Victoria Square

Alamyar Green Olives, nuts and baklava
French Flavour www.frenchflavour.co.uk Artisan French produce
Purdon’s Cheese Speciality cheeses
Rose Cottage Ltd www.rosecottagepies.co.uk Speciality pork pies and savouries
The French Corner Ltd Traditional French breads
The Chocolate Café www.chocolate-cafe.co.uk Award-winning handmade chocolates
Gatto Bianco Wine Fine wines
Signature Soaps www.signaturesoaps.co.uk Handmade specialist soaps- including the natural ‘cooks soap’
Reedys www.reedys.co.uk Award-winning chutneys, jams, flavoured oils and vinegars
The Garlic Farm www.thegarlicfarm.co.uk All things garlic… fresh and smoked bulbs, elephant garlic, seeds, chutneys, condiments, oils and seasonings
Bowland pork, Beef & Lamb www.bowlandpork.co.uk Hot roast sausage and bacon buns, burgers, fresh pork, beef, lamb, poultry and game
Continental Cottage Ltd www.continentalcottage.co.uk Authentic German salami
Dalesbred Finest Meat www.dalesbredfinestmeats.co.uk Home reared beef, pork, lamb, mutton & rose veal
H J Grundy – Fresh fish and seafood
Lancashire Blackpuddings Black puddings, beef puddings, farmhouse pork pies, haggis
Port of Lancashire Smokehouse www.lancastersmokehouse.co.uk Smoked fish, meat, cheese, game and poultry

You can read more about the Bolton Food and Drink Festival at Dolly Bakes.

5 comments:

  1. how lovely... what a great weekend of food and a brilliant review!!... a bit far for me to come but I really wish I was there... x

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh Sue, what a wonderful array of food. I don't think I've ever been to a Food Fest as big as that. And mixing with the stars too!!!! One thing missing though - where's the chocolate?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There are at least two stalls that I saw selling chocolate, and I bought some that was made locally for my mum. x

      Delete
  3. Looks great, so much food and the sun looks like it was shining too.

    ReplyDelete

Please leave a comment...if you have tried one of my recipes I'd love feedback, and thank you for taking time to pop by to read my blog.

Susan x